A Memorable Meal

Andrew and I were in search of bar food and beach drinks, but we found something so much more impressive.

We walked hand in hand in the new darkness of night, following lights along Jolly Beach. Our footprints extended past the luxurious (but overly exclusive and expensive) Sandals resort, where they turned around because the closest restaurant was equally as expensive and exclusive. Thankfully, walking the opposite direction took us to the perfect spot.

This beach restaurant had two stories, and we chose the empty top story to share the quiet, romantic mood we found ourselves in. The menu boasted all kinds of seafood delights, local appetizers and tourist-pleasers alike. I found the perfect intersection, a delicacy I had been seeking out since I left Costa Rica: Lion Fish.

Lion Fish, or Pterois, are a genus of fish that have long, poisonous spikes all over their body. They are originally from the Indo-Pacific, but somehow this invasive species got into the Caribbean and has outcompeted local fish. Many countries now encouraging the fishing and consumption of this animal, so that we can feed ourselves and defend local populations.

Ordering fried Lion Fish was the perfect way to end a day in the exhausting sun. It tasted like a juicy, tender burger (which I don’t experience much because I am pescetarian), and my conscious was liberated knowing that my meat consumption was actually for the betterment of the local ocean. The candlelight and lack of other customers in the nameless restaurant made for the perfect evening meal, complete with white wine and french fries: two of my favorite complements. I couldn’t have asked for a better surprise find.